13331552

 After The Seven habits of highly effective people, it was time that I returned to Mr. Holmes. The next (and also penultimate) collection of stories is called His last bow. It is the Sherlock Holmes collection that has the fewest number of short stories: 8. At the end of the post I will also share a little joke with you. 🙂

20160222_145803

Again, Sir Arthur C. Doyle doesn’t dissapoint in excitement and mistery, I literally devoured the stories, they have a certain charm about them that make them endearing to read. As I’ve said, it is the penultimate book, but it is the last chronologically, as it finishes at the dawn of ‘The Great war’. It is called The last bow because it shares the title with the last story. In this story we also hear, that after retiring, Holmes dedicated himself to being a beekeeper, and also, it’s the only story told in third person, and not by Watson or Sherlock.

One of the things I love most about the world of Sherlock Holmes is his friendship with Watson. I have said that I prefer the stories to be told by Watson rather than by Sherlock Holmes, because he ads a certain drama to them, but also, he humanizes the great detective.

There are three stories that stand out for me, after having read them all. My favorite one must be The adventure of the cardbord box, I loved the plot, and the fact that it has quite a passionate mood to it. Imagine this: One old lady receives a box with two human ears in it. Need I say more?:)) The dissapearence of Lady Frances Carfax, was the first story in the series, in which I knew the solution before Sherlock did. Aaand the Award for the creepiest story in the collection, goes to The adventure of the Devil’s Foot. I’m reaally trying my best to keep away from spoilers here :D.

I have spent so much time with Mr. Holmes now ( I started reading his adventures last summer), I feel a bit nostalgic at the thought that I have only one more collection to read. But that’s what so great about books, isn’t it? Being able to revisit your old companions anytime you feel like it. And you don’t even have to call them to see if they’re at home. :))

“Education never ends, Watson. It is a series of lessons, with the greatest for the last.”

“His incredible untidiness, his addiction to music at strange hours, his occasional revolver practice within doors, his weird and often malodorous scientific experiments, and the atmosphere of violence and danger which hung around him made him the very worst tenant in London.” (Watson’s description of Holmes)

As I’ve said in the beginning, I’ll share with you a joke that I came across on Goodreads:

Sherlock Holmes and Dr. Watson are taking a trip across a desert by hot-air balloon. There are not many landmarks; so eventually, they become lost. Luckily, while flying quite low, they see a man.
Holmes shouts, “Sir, could you please tell me where we are?”
The man looks up, ponders for a moment, and then answers, “Gentlemen, you are in a hot-air balloon!”
At this moment, a burst of wind picks up the balloon and carries it away.
Holmes turns to Watson and asks: “My friend, do you know who that man is?”

“No, Holmes, of course not!”
“He’s a mathematician!”
“Holmes, that’s incredible! But how do you know?”
“It’s very simple, Watson. First of all, the man thought before giving us an answer. Secondly, his answer was absolutely correct. And thirdly, the answer he gave us was of no practical use, whatsoever!”

 

 

 

 

 

