RFCE118aCtFC4T67D8K6UW74

   As I sit down to write this post, I feel exhausted. But the good kind, you know? When you’ve been out, walking all day, with the wind, or sun beating in your face, and it feels great. The recharging kind of exhaustion. I have spent the day in Oxford, a place beaming with history and full of energy. It’s just great, everywhere you look, there’s a historical building, or a little statue, and it’s full with young people, and you can’t help but think about all the knowledge concentratedin that one town.

10387581

 

Anyway, back to our sheep. Yesterday I finished The complete adventures of Sherlock Holmes and Tales of terror and mystery. Just to be clear, the stories on Sherlock were actually finished, but my version of the book contains the collection of Tales of Horror and Mystery. According to my Goodreads account, I started the book on the 3rd of June, which means more than 9 months spent with the writing of Sr. Conan Doyle. Happy days.

I believe in their time these storys were quite spooky, I can imagine they were read and told on cold winter nights with a storm going on, and a mug of mulled wine in hands. Although I wouldn’t say that I was bored reading them (They are a statement of Sr. Conan Doyle’s endless imagination), they don’t compare to the genius of Sherlock, and some of them, as the titles indicates, are mysterious, but not scary at all.

The collection contains twelve stories :

THE HORROR OF THE HEIGHTS
THE LEATHER FUNNEL
THE NEW CATACOMB
THE CASE OF LADY SANNOX
THE TERROR OF BLUE JOHN GAP
THE BRAZILIAN CAT
THE LOST SPECIAL
THE BEETLE-HUNTER
THE MAN WITH THE WATCHES
THE JAPANNED BOX
THE BLACK DOCTOR
THE JEW’S BREASTPLATE

Again, as with the Sherlock stories, I really enjoyed the author’s use of the english language. (It might make it harder to understand for younger readers though.). The stories take many twists and turns, with many surprising endings.

I started on my way back from Birmingham, a few weeks ago, and honestly, the first story, The horror of the hieghts, left me rather disappointed. It goes on about creatures that are purple, look like sea lions, live in the skies and attack pilots. Need I say more? Because I have this thing where I highly dislike leaving a book unfinished, I had my fingers crossed that it wouldn’t go on on the same note. Fortunately, they did got better.

My favorite was, if I were to choose, The brazilian cat. It is a story that goes on with the well-known writing style of Sr. Conan Doyle. What I really liked about it, was the way it managed to convey the suspense felt by the characters. SPOILER ALERT! As I was reading about this poor fellow, stock in a room with a puma, I found that my pulse had risen and my palms are just a little bit sweaty. I even dreamed about being chased by a tiger one of these nights. As the character was waiting for dawn to come, I was clutching at the Kindle, waiting myself for the dawn to come. I love a story that grabs you like that.

 Sir Arthur Conan Doyle is an amazing story-teller, so my recommendation would be, get yourself a hot drink, get cosy, and get reading ! 😀

 

