12696031

Ha! I finished my history book sooner than I realised. History was always one of my favorite subjects. Even if I don’t believe everything that’s being taught in textbooks, I find it fascinating to learn how the story of humanity has unfolded.

England, Ireland and Scotland have a rich and entangled history. I’ve always been keen on learning about it, given my fascination with the culture on the island. I’ve read many books on the topic, most of them when I was living in Scotland. Obviously, the versions slightly differ depending on the country that’s telling the story.

However, the book itself was far from being objective. The author’s stand on the matter came across quite clearly. I can’t say it wasn’t informative, but I really didn’t like the style, which was hard to read, and pompous.

It does help to put into context the kings, major battles, religious and political currents. A few things don’t sound quite right though, like how she makes it sound that the English did a favor to the Indians by colonising them, and I particularly didn’t enjoy the last paragraph of the history of Scotland, but we’ll be tolerant and blame it on patriotism.

This book was converted from its physical edition to the digital format by a community of volunteers. You may find it for free on the web. If you’re interested on the history of England, Ireland and Scotland, and if you are looking for the sort version, give it a try, but don’t forget to take into account the year it was published.(1895)

 

 

 

