When I chose this book as my travel companion, I wasn’t sure if it’s fiction or some female empowerment book. It turned out to be fiction, the light read kind.

5312123

 

After a few pages I felt a little bit like watching Xena, the warrior princess, although with a lot less fighting. Does anyone even remember that show? I remember it used to run in parallel with Hercules. :))

In the universe of Catherin M. Wilson, women are the badass warriors, the protectors of the land, and the men tag along to help them out against northerners and other threats. The warriors leave together in a house and they have companions and apprentices. It sort of reminded me of a sorority.

The writing of Catherin M. Wilson is quite musical, which also made it easy to read. The plot itself was centered more than on fights, on the bonds between the characters, loyalty and standing up for what you feel is right. I can see romance developing in the follow-ups to the story as well, as the bonds are getting stronger and the girls start exploring their feelings.

Being the first part of a trilogy, I don’t feel about the rest of the saga like I’m gonna rush to the next bookshop to buy them, but if I happen to stumble upon them by chance I would probably read them when I feel like I fancy something light.

As and ending to the post I’m gonna share my absolutely favorite part of the book, this is a song that’s being sang during the winter celebrations, and I think it’s gorgeous:

 

Sun’s light. Moon’s light. Lamplight and firelight.

Love’s light. Light my way through the longest night.

Long night. Soft dark. Sleep, sleep in Mother’s arms.

Silence holds us. Love enfolds us. Safe from harm.

Sun’s light. Moon’s light. Lamplight and firelight.

Love’s light. Light my way through the longest night.

Days longer. Light stronger. Nights warmer. Hope clearer.

Life longer. Love stronger. Hearts warmer. Day nearer.

Sun’s light. Moon’s light. Lamplight and firelight.

Love’s light. Light my way through the darkest night.

20160501_181255
At the Giant’s Causeway, N. Ireland

 

