Right, so after I finished When women were warriors, I said it’s time to read something smart, so I picked up the book I didn’t wanna read while I was travelling home.

I don’t see myself as a business person, but this book made me feel like I would like to start my own. It reminded me of the Seven habits of highly effective people, because everything it said made complete sense, and because Derek Sivers is trying to teach principles, more than shortcuts to being succesful. I never enjoyed a book on this topic more.

Derek Sivers is known as the founder of Cdbaby, a website that sells independent music, and in his book he speaks about the ideas that guided him in making Cdbaby work. I think it’s so awesome that his mantra is ‘helping people comes first’. I did a little research, and people seem to say he’s available to help anyone who turns to him for advice, and he is prompt in answering his emails, which I find to be very rare nowadays.

He writes like a person you would like to befriend, and I think that’s the reason he comes across as very genuine. If you’re filling a need for the world, and making yourself happy, that’s all you need in life says Derek. Sounds good, right? I know, most of the time it’s easier said than done.

Some of the things I learnt from the book:

1. success comes from persistently improving and inventing, not from persistently doing what’s not working.

2. Never forget that absolutely everything you do is for your customers.

3. It’s counterintuitive, but the way to grow your business is to keep it small.

4. TRUST, but verify

5. Pay close attention to what excites you and what drains you. Pay close attention to when you’re being the real you and when you’re trying to impress an invisible jury.

6.It’s ok to be casual and informal

Probably what I enjoyed most it was the way it was written, simple and clear, so even people like me can understand it. I say, if you’re thinking about starting something, this little book it’s a good start.

 

