14462796_10154661236549078_8001796375623162139_nAs I was sitting in front of the laptop, trying to think what to write about, I happened upon Meryl Streep’s Golden Globe speech. She gave a speech that left everyone else in the room, and myself in front of the laptop, speechless. And without her giving any names, everyone knew who and what she was talking about.

I was unsure if it was worth writing about the matter. A lot has been said and written, not just about the election in America, but about everything caused by all the lack of empathy in this world we live in. I know some of my friends will raise an eyebrow at me, and say, but you’re not even American! I guess my issue isn’t so much  the result of the election, as what it stands for. I never was one for politics.

But I was always one to understand what it feels like to be an outsider. I was always one to feel saddened by other people hurting. I was always one to be curious about things and people who are different to me. I was never really materialist. But I kinda understand how this corporative world makes you one. It’s OK to want to have money to pay your bills. It’s OK to want to have a roof above your head. It’s OK to want to be able to pay for your health care, or for your children’s education. It’s OK to work and strive towards financial security. I do to, I won’t be a hypocrite.

But it’s not OK to forget to be human. It’s not OK to forget all about empathy for the ones who are marginalised, the ones on the fringes of society. It’s not OK to be scared to speak up. Against unfair judgement, against cruelty,against disrespect, against manipulation of the masses. Against ignorance and passivity. Others will pick a fight with you. People who might be smarter, more knowledgeable about the ways of the world, and they will show you in millions of way’s how you’re too naive, too sentimental. But that’s also OK. You know it’s OK to listen to your gut. It doesn’t think in numbers. 😉

IT’S OK TO CARE !

